Close this search box.

Southeastern Idaho Science Bowl takes place March 9-10

June 15, 2020

By INL Media Relations

High school, middle school teams to compete in Southeastern Idaho Science Bowl

IDAHO FALLS – Southeastern Idaho high school and middle school students are testing their math and science knowledge this week at the Southeastern Idaho Science Bowl sponsored by Idaho National Laboratory and the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science (DOE-SC). This is the 27th year INL has sponsored a math and science quiz-bowl tournament in which teams of students buzz in to answer questions, and the third year that middle school students will be included.

Teams will compete in the Jeopardy-style tournament held Thursday, March 9, for high school students and Friday, March 10, for middle school students. The high school tournament will take place in Idaho Falls at University Place, 1776 Science Center Dr., and Eastern Idaho Technical College, 1600 S. 25th E., and middle school tournaments will be held at University Place.

In the high school competition, 24 teams in three divisions based on school enrollment will compete in a round-robin tournament. The schedule for Thursday is as follows: At University Place, the Class B (medium schools) will begin competing at 8:30 a.m., while the Class C (small schools) will begin at 12:30 p.m. The Class A (large schools) will begin competing at 10 a.m. in the Alexander D. Creek Building on the EITC campus. The top two teams from each division will advance to the six-team Champion of Champions competition at 4:30 p.m., concluding with the awards ceremony immediately following the final round at University Place.

On Friday, March 10, 10 middle school teams will compete in a round-robin tournament beginning at 9:30 a.m. and concluding with the awards ceremony at 12:30 p.m. at University Place.

The winning teams will earn the right to represent the region at the U.S. Department of Energy National Science Bowl. Teams from across the nation will be competing in the NSB finals April 27-May 1 in Washington, D.C.

DOE-SC launched the competition in 1991 to encourage students to excel in science and math and to pursue careers in those fields.

Teams competing this year in the high school division are:

  • Bonneville High School, Century High School, Hillcrest High School, Idaho Falls High School, Jerome High School, Pocatello High School, Rigby High School, Skyline High School and Twin Falls High School in the large-school division.
  • American Falls High School, Filer High School, Kimberly High School, Marsh Valley High School, Preston High School and South Fremont High School in the medium-school division.
  • Butte County High School, Challis High School, Mackay High School, Oakley High School, Ririe High School, Soda Springs High School, Wendell High School, West Jefferson High School and West Side High School in the small-school division.

Teams competing in the middle school division are:

  • Alameda Middle School, Holy Spirit Catholic School, Idaho Science and Technology Charter School (two teams), Mackay Middle School, Malad Middle School (two teams), O’Leary Middle School, Preston Junior High (two teams), and Teton Middle School.


About Idaho National Laboratory

Battelle Energy Alliance manages INL for the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Nuclear Energy. INL is the nation’s center for nuclear energy research and development, celebrating 75 years of scientific innovations in 2024. The laboratory performs research in each of DOE’s strategic goal areas: energy, national security, science and the environment. 

Follow us on social media: FacebookInstagramLinkedIn and X.

Posted June 15, 2020

What People Are Reading

Idaho National Laboratory