Close this search box.

The Fellow designation is the highest honor ANS can bestow

June 18, 2020

By INL Media Relations

American Nuclear Society honors INL researchers with top awards

Two Idaho National Laboratory researchers have been recognized as Fellows by the American Nuclear Society.

Terry Todd, INL Fuel Cycle Science & Technology director, and Mark DeHart, a nuclear engineer in the Reactor Physics Analysis & Design Department, will both be recognized for the honor at the ANS 2016 Annual Meeting June 12-16 in New Orleans. The Fellow designation is the highest honor ANS can bestow on an individual and acknowledges outstanding leadership, professional accomplishments, and service to the profession.

“Over many years, Terry and Mark have made outstanding contributions to totally different parts of the nuclear technology spectrum,” said Dr. Kemal Pasamehmetoglu, director of INL’s Nuclear Science & Technology (NS&T) Directorate. “These recognitions by the American Nuclear Society are a testimony to the technical diversity of INL leaders.”

In addition to his leadership role in the Fuel Cycle Science & Technology Division, Todd is an INL Laboratory Fellow. His primary focus is directing research and development of advanced technologies for spent nuclear fuel recycling and other chemical separation applications. He also serves as the national technical director for the DOE Fuel Cycle Research and Development Separations and Waste Form Program.

Todd holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees in chemical engineering from Montana State University, and a Ph.D. in radiochemical engineering from Khlopin Radium Institute in St. Petersburg, Russia. He has 33 years of experience in chemical separation technologies involving spent nuclear fuel and radioactive waste, holds 23 U.S. and six Russian patents, and has published over 180 journal articles, reports and conference proceedings. Todd is also a Fellow in the American Institute of Chemical Engineers. Outside of work, he enjoys piloting his plane, playing basketball with his sons, and golfing.

DeHart is a distinguished R&D staff nuclear engineer in INL’s Reactor Physics Analysis and Design Department, and also serves as deputy director for NS&T Reactor Physics Modeling and Simulation. In addition to these roles, he is also the principal investigator and research director for development and validation of a modeling and simulation capability for TREAT (Transient Reactor Test Facility) under the U.S. Department of Energy Nuclear Energy Advanced Modeling and Simulation program (NEAMS).

DeHart came to INL in 2010 from Oak Ridge National Lab, and has extensive experience in reactor physics, criticality safety, depletion and spent fuel characterization, cross-section processing, and computer code verification and validation. He holds bachelor’s, master’s and Ph.D. degrees in nuclear engineering from Texas A&M University, and is the current chair of the Idaho Section of the ANS. DeHart has more than 100 publications in journals, conference proceedings, and national laboratory reports related to computational methods and other fields. Outside of work, he enjoys travel, camping and photography.


About Idaho National Laboratory

Battelle Energy Alliance manages INL for the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Nuclear Energy. INL is the nation’s center for nuclear energy research and development, celebrating 75 years of scientific innovations in 2024. The laboratory performs research in each of DOE’s strategic goal areas: energy, national security, science and the environment. 

Follow us on social media: FacebookInstagramLinkedIn and X.

Posted June 18, 2020

What People Are Reading

Idaho National Laboratory