Close this search box.

INL hosted its annual awards ceremony

June 23, 2020

By INL Media Relations

INL News Release
Feb. 27, 2015

Keith Arterburn, 208-351-2999, [email protected]
Misty Benjamin, 208-351-9900, [email protected]

Researchers and inventors recognized for scientific achievements in 2014

IDAHO FALLS — Idaho National Laboratory expanded the number of researchers and inventors honored during its annual recognition event Friday at the Energy Innovation Laboratory in Idaho Falls.

INL’s 19th Annual Research & Development Awards Ceremony  highlighted achievements in 2014, including the receipt of 33 new issued patents, the application for 29 new patents and the submission of 24 new inventions for evaluation. More than 100 lab employees were honored for their efforts to produce advances that may be used by U.S. government agencies and licensed for commercialization in various markets.

“We expanded our program to include the extensive efforts of our researchers to publish their work in peer-reviewed journal articles, as well as two awards to recognize those for performances delivering significant innovation and impact,” said INL Laboratory Director John Grossenbacher. “Research and technology from Idaho National Laboratory contribute significantly to national challenges in energy, environment and national and homeland security.” For 2014, the recipients of these awards are:

Outstanding Paper by Early Career Scientist or Engineer
Krzysztof Gofryk for “Anisotropic Thermal Conductivity in Uranium Dioxide”

Outstanding Scientific Paper
Isabella van Rooyen and Thomas Lillo for “Identification of Silver and Palladium in Irradiated TRISO Coated Particles”

Outstanding Engineering Paper
Julian Benz, Laura Carroll, Jill Wright, Richard Wright and Thomas Lillo for “Threshold Stress Creep Behavior of Alloy 617 at Intermediate Temperature”

Lifetime Achievement Award for an INL Author
Gary Groenewold for more than 75 peer-reviewed journal articles and significant citation by others

Outstanding Innovation Award
Brad Norby for National and International Impact and Innovation in Materials Technology

Outstanding Impact Award
Curtis St. Michel for National Impact Control Systems Security Consultant

In addition to recognizing patented invention and copyrights, special recognition was given for three Laboratory Director’s Achievement Awards, Inventor of the Year and Technician of the Year Award. Recipients of these awards were honored for significant contributions in their research fields during 2014. The winners include:

•  Mike Tonks for Early Career Exceptional Achievement,
•  Brad Merrill for Exceptional Engineering Achievement,
•  Rich Williamson for Exceptional Scientific Achievement,
•  Scott Herbst for Individual Lifetime Achievement in Science and Technology,
•  Vicki Thompson for Inventor of the Year, and
•  Cory Jones for Technician of the Year.



Related news

Follow Us!

About Idaho National Laboratory

Battelle Energy Alliance manages INL for the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Nuclear Energy. INL is the nation’s center for nuclear energy research and development, celebrating 75 years of scientific innovations in 2024. The laboratory performs research in each of DOE’s strategic goal areas: energy, national security, science and the environment. 

Follow us on social media: FacebookInstagramLinkedIn and X.

Posted June 23, 2020

What People Are Reading

Idaho National Laboratory