INL News Release
April 4, 2019

Leslie Wright, 208.526.2926,
Sarah Neumann, 208.526.0490,

Laboratory Director Awards Ceremony honors exceptional INL employees

IDAHO FALLS – On April 5, Idaho National Laboratory will celebrate the achievements of some of its exceptional employees at the 23rd annual Laboratory Director Awards ceremony. The reception honors a wide range of talent among the diverse roles and responsibilities that make INL’s research possible.

The event will highlight outstanding achievements from 2018, including 21 newly issued patents, five copyright assertions and four R&D 100 Awards. INL, which is celebrating its 70th anniversary in 2019, will recognize the work done over the past decades with a commemorative video, and employees will be recognized for their outstanding research and development accomplishments in support of INL’s mission.

“2018 was a great year of success at INL, thanks to our dedicated and talented staff,” INL Laboratory Director Mark Peters said. “Tonight’s ceremony is an opportunity to celebrate achievements and express our gratitude. Congratulations to our award winners, and to all in our workforce. This last year was truly a memorable one, and I appreciate everyone’s passion and hard work.”

Douglas Porter will be inducted into the Inventors Hall of Fame at the five-patent level. Frederick Stewart and Mark Stone will be inducted at the 10-patent level.

The 2018 award recipients are:

  • Community Award: Linda Montgomery
  • Inclusive Diversity Award: Donna O’Kelly
  • Leadership Award: Richard Farrar
  • Mission Advancement: Partnership and Collaboration Award: High-Density Nuclear Fuel Fabrication Development Team: Steven Martinson, Adrian Wagner, Mark Borland, Blair Grover, Brett Horsburgh
  • Mission Enabling Support Services Individual Award: Jana Beyerlin and Shawn Jensen
  • Mission Enabling Support Services Team Award: Remote-Handled Low-Level Waste Disposal Team: Brady Orchard, Brett Welty, Stephanie Austad, Sadie Butler, Boyd Christensen, Bradley Cole, Pamela Crane, Reese Gannon, Stacy Nottestad, Abraham Romo, Jeffrey Sondrup, Steven Richards, Albert Wilcox
  • Outstanding Impact Award: CyberStrike Team: Robert Smith, Daniel Noyes, John Yadon, Amanda Belloff, Ron Heaps, Joel Johnson, Trent Taylor, Timothy Conway
  • Laboratory Award for Early Career Exceptional Achievement: Jeffery Aguiar
  • Laboratory Award for Exceptional Engineering Achievement: Sergiy Sazhin
  • Laboratory Award for Exceptional Scientific Achievement: Yoshiko Fujita
  • Laboratory Award for Individual Lifetime Achievement in Science and Technology: Brad Norby
  • Inventor of the Year Award: Henry Chu
  • Operations Technician of the Year Award: Darren Nielsen
  • Research and Development Technician of the Year Award: Richard Hatch
  • INL Vision Award: CES-21 Team: Robert Caliva, Rita Foster, Jed Haile, Bryce McClurg, Bryan Beckman
  • INL Vision Award: Gateway for Accelerated Innovation in Nuclear Team: John Jackson, Lori Braase
  • INL Vision Award: Nuclear Science User Facilities Team: Dan Ogden, Collin Knight, Lindy Bean, Jeff Benson, Renae Soelberg
  • INL Vision Award: Carl Stoots

INL is one of the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE’s) national laboratories. The laboratory performs work in each of DOE’s strategic goal areas: energy, national security, science and environment. INL is the nation’s leading center for nuclear energy research and development. Day-to-day management and operation of the laboratory is the responsibility of Battelle Energy Alliance.

See more INL news at Follow @INL on Twitter or visit our Facebook page at